Beauty & The Beast on Broadway San Diego

 I had the privilege of attending Disney’s Beauty and the Beast downtown on Broadway San Diego at the Civic Theatre this past Tuesday night. I have been to several musicals during my lifetime and many of them at the Civic Theatre, but nothing I have seen can compare to this performance. It was by far the most amazing, beautiful and breathtaking performance I have ever seen. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a sensational time. It is appropriate for audiences of all ages. Beauty and the Beast is one of my favorite Disney movies, but that was not why I loved the performance so much. The characters were well casted, the costumes creative and exquisite, and the setting was creative and breathtaking. It was very apparent that a lot of talent and creative genius went into creating this musical.

In regards to the characters and their costumes I would have to say that my favorite costumes were those created for the enchanted furnishings in the Beast’s castle. That would included Lumiere the candelabra, Cogsworth the mantle clock, Babette the duster, and especially Madame de la Grande Bouche the dresser who even pulled outfits out of her drawers. The rest of the costumes were fabulous including Gaston, the Beast and Belle’s many dresses, especially the yellow one she wore to dinner with the Beast.

Each of the actors played their characters perfectly. I had the most fun watching Gaston carry on about how wonderful he is while Lafou followed him around doing his bidding. Each characters personalities came alive and brought a lot of excitement and humor to the show. In regards to the setting, I loved the beautiful stage floor that was intricately painted with blue and gold vines. The set that framed the stage was painted to match the same pattern as the floor and before the show started and during intermission there was this beautiful glowing rose that could be seen through a line dark scrim. The scrim was used on many occasions to create a certain effect. It was used during the two scenes when the wolves attacked, so that we could see what was going on, but with fewer details.

My favorite scene of the whole performance was the Be Our Guest musical number. They did a phenomenal job recreating this classic celebration piece from the timeless movie. They had dancing spoons, dancing plates, a whole entourage of enchanted objects and even confetti streamers that shot out over the audience. It truly was a celebration and you could feel the excitement in the room. There wasn’t a thing that I didn’t like or that disappointed me, instead my expectations were exceeded on every level. If you haven’t seen this show, you should go and see it. I guarantee that you will not be disappointed.

October 29, 2010. Art Events.

One Comment

  1. Blog Customization replied:

    There is definately a great deal to find out about
    this subject. I like all of the points you have made.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

