Viva La Revolucion: A Dialogue with the Urban Landscape

  Today I visited the Museum of Contemporary Art in downtown San Diego with my classmate Rocio Hernandez. We began our journey inside the Jacobs building which featured the indoor portion of the exhibit Viva La Revolucion: A Dialogue with the Urban Landscape. As soon as we entered I knew this would be a very interesting exhibit because we heard music coming from one of the rooms and saw this big massive display right in the front. This big massive sculptured piece of artwork (pictured below) was made of cardboard boxes, sand and blackened loaves of bread. There was a lot of writing covering the cardboard boxes, but since it was in spanish and wrapped around the boxes Rocio and I could not read what it said.

Next we followed the sound of music coming from the next room to discover the most bizarre, yet cool thing I have ever seen, a singing trash can. The trash can wasn’t actually singing, but it was creating a beat as the pieces of trash moved inside the can. I have never seen anything like it in my life. I thought to myself, this is an excellent use for people’s discarded trash. I think that this was among my favorite pieces featured in the exhibit just because the idea behind it was so fresh and original.

The next room that we entered featured a couple of vehicles, my favorite being the one created entirely out of old boom boxes and cassette tape players. The artist who designed this had quite an imagination. I particularly was partial to the purple upholstery, my favorite color. The  other vehicle reminded me of an old-fashioned horse buggy without the horses. It wasn’t made out of unique parts like the other one, so I didn’t like it as much.

The room that contained these vehicles also had some amazing paintings on the wall. I call them amazing because they were so colorful and pleasing to look at. There were three of these pieces that looked like the artist had just painted layer over layer of color and designs using stencils. There were three different pieces, the first of these being a large square canvas that was totally covered in this unique burst of colors and design. At first glance it is easy to see the explosion of colors, but you have to look closer at the piece to notice that the colors are a collage of different shapes stenciled on top of each other. The next piece in this collection was also square, but had a design in the middle that was framed by swirls of colors. It almost looks like a fire rising up in the middle. What I liked most about this particular piece was the swirling colors that framed it, this feature made it unique from the other two pieces featured in the room. The final piece in this collection was a circular canvas similar to the other two but smaller. This particular piece contained the most variety of interesting shapes, which included everything from skulls, to seahorses, to spirals, etc. Needless to say the harder and closer you examined this piece the more shapes you began to untangle from the jungle of color and shapes. I would have liked to watch these paintings being created, because I am still unsure of how the artist was able to accomplish these breathtaking works of art. I am pretty sure that the artist must have used stencils of some kind to get such a variety of precise shapes.

Next we moved on to the final room inside the museum which feature several different pieces. I thought the person in the shape of a an upside down musical instruments was quite creative and unique. My favorite piece in this room was a face etched out of a brick wall. I liked this one because I could tell that a lot of work went into creating it and it looked so realistic. I love portraits because that is what I like to paint and I think that they speak volumes to the viewers. I know how hard it is to paint a portrait let alone carve one out of a brick wall. This artist has got talent.

There were many more pieces featured in the indoor exhibit, but there is not enough space or time to feature them all here. The rest of the exhibit was featured outside on the walls of the city. I do have to say that the outside pieces were hard to find and not easily accessible unless you wanted to walk around downtown for at least 90 minutes. The museum curators informed us that a few of the outside exhibits were right down the street so we decided to walk and visit those pieces. The two pieces that we visited on foot are featured below. We also drove by three other pieces in the city on our way home. We saw Barry Mcgee’s graffiti words, Os Gemeos people stacked on top of each other and an ape wearing underwear. I would have to say that I did not care much for the outside exhibit and some parts of the museum collection. Much of it was to weird and gruesome for my taste. I did enjoy many of the creative inside exhibits and am glad that I had the opportunity to visit the exhibit.

October 17, 2010. Art Events.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

