The Buena Vista Social Club

I would have to say that this was my least favorite film so far, but at the same time it was not bad. I had a difficult time watching it because of having to read the subtitles in order to understand what was going on. The subtitles made it hard to enjoy the film because I had to concentrate so hard on reading the text. I thought the musicians were excellent and enjoyed their music and singing. I was able to get a peek into Cuban culture through the music, the sites and the life stories of each of these men. I enjoyed hearing each one of them tell the stories of growing up and how they became musicians or singers. My favorite part was at the end of the film when they all got to come to New York and play at Carnegie Hall. I could tell that the men were excited and honored to be in America. It was interesting to see our country from their perspective. I am glad that the music of these men and woman was able to be revived and given the honor that it deserved.

October 5, 2010. Movie Reflections.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

